EPA Practice Test


Environmental Protection Agency - EPA Practice Test

The United States Environmental Protection Agency has assessed the company’s work and certified that it complies with the EPA’s environmental protection standards. People need safe air to breathe and clean water to drink, so taking care of the environment also involves taking care of people. For any company that wants to carry the EPA certification, there is a protocol that must be followed. Being EPA Certified is an excellent approach to demonstrate to customers that a firm cares about them and wants to defend their interests.

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is the government agency in charge of environmental protection. They are in charge of water, air, and soil quality laws and regulations across the country. 

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) can penalize a corporation for contaminating the air, for example. Taking care of the environment has always been their work, and they take it very seriously. As an EPA Certified contractor, you must ensure that you protect your clients and the environment when repairing, maintaining, and installing heating and air conditioning devices for companies and individuals.

Take the Practice Test Now!

Two different certifications: EPA 608 & EPA 609

Sections 608 and 609, which govern the installation and service of stationary and mobile air conditioning systems, are derived from that historic environmental regulation. Both sets of regulations demand that technicians obtain certification. EPA-approved Section 609 Technician Training and Certification Programs must teach and certify technicians who repair or service MVACs. These programs are designed to suit MVAC recycling equipment in compliance with Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) standards and regulatory requirements under Section 609. To become certified, MVAC technicians must complete a specified training program and pass a test. The Section 608 technician certification tests are not the same as these tests.

EPA 608

All individuals who access a system or container containing a regulated refrigerant must be certified under Section 608 of the Federal Clean Air Act, according to the US government. It requires that anybody who maintains, services, repairs, or disposes of appliances containing controlled refrigerants complete a proctored EPA exam to be certified in correct refrigerant handling practices.


The EPA 608 consists of four sections – Core, Type I, Type II, & Type III.

– Core:

General knowledge of refrigerants and regulations is covered. Much of the information in the Type I, II, and III sections builds on or refers to the information in the Core section. To get a certification card, the student must pass Core and at least one other section. Core is not a certification in itself.

– Type I:

Covers domestic refrigerators, window air conditioners, PTACs, vending machines and other small appliances that have less than 5 pounds of refrigerant and are factory sealed. A Type I technician who has passed both the Core and Type I sections has earned certification.

– Type II:

Residential air conditioners and heat pumps, supermarket refrigeration, and process refrigeration are all examples of equipment that uses high-pressure refrigerant (HCFC-22). Both the Core and Type II sections have been passed by a licensed Type II technician.

– Type III:

Covers chillers and other equipment that uses a low-pressure refrigerant (HCFC-123 or CFC-11). Both the Core and Type III sections have been passed by a licensed Type III technician.


A Universal certification indicates that you have passed all four sections and are qualified to work as a Type I, II, or III technician. The test does not have a universal section.

EPA 609

Technicians who service motor vehicle air conditioning “MVAC” systems must be qualified under Section 609 of the Federal Clean Air Act. MVACs are included in the definition of appliances under Section 608’s provisions; but, because their service and repair are governed by Section 609, they are not subject to Section 608’s servicing obligations.


The Section 609 Motor Vehicle Air Conditioning Exam, an open EPA test, is:

  • Required to service motor vehicle A/C systems

  • Required to purchase small containers (under 20 lb) of regulated refrigerants


Both regulations require technician certification. These programs are tailored to SAE Standards and Section 609 regulatory requirements for MVAC refrigerant recovery, recycling, and charging equipment and methods. To become certified, MVAC technicians must complete a specified training program and pass a test.

EPA Mission

The mission of EPA is to protect human health and the environment.

  • Americans have clean air, land and water;
  • National efforts to reduce environmental risks are based on the best available scientific information;
  • Federal laws protecting human health and the environment are administered and enforced fairly, effectively and as Congress intended;
  • Environmental stewardship is integral to U.S. policies concerning natural resources, human health, economic growth, energy, transportation, agriculture, industry, and international trade, and these factors are similarly considered in establishing environmental policy;
  • All parts of society–communities, individuals, businesses, and state, local and tribal governments–have access to accurate information sufficient to effectively participate in managing human health and environmental risks;
  • Contaminated lands and toxic sites are cleaned up by potentially responsible parties and revitalized; and
  • Chemicals in the marketplace are reviewed for safety.